My Poetry, Personal Experience

As I Lay Down…

First love. These two words probably bring the bitterest and the sweetest memories of life back to us. For me, it’s been eight years but still…

As I Lay Down

IMG_20130926_132301

As I lay down wondering about us in the past,
about those dark deep eyes which stared in mine last,
about the things I felt within me even without your touch,
about how losing everything for you wouldn’t have mattered much…

As I lay down wondering about the smell of your hair,
about the winds blowing through them and the way you didn’t really care,
about how you knew, you set me in a trance,
about those two tears between us knowing it was our last dance…

As I lay down wondering about those dreamy last moments,
I cannot recollect a single host inviting this omen,
how, by us, our love was forever stolen.
Slaughtering and slashing our kin to no mend,
it was only us, to those wounds, who could tend.
But we didn’t ’cause that time we had to let go.
You are now all alone, hand in hand, we are no more.

I remember the day we chose polar paths.
Every step was too hard, every breath pierced our hearts.
I remember your cries, crystal clear, I could hear.
Still oblivious I had to be so as to not draw you near.
I remember the hurt, the gory red dirt,
the bleeding unseen wounds feeding the tender tunes.

This pain unchained has lingered a million months.
Maybe more, this heart still sore from the hole in it you bore.
Is your soul still scarred or is it dancing with glee?
Do you not even remember, how close were we?

As I lay down in the fields staring at the weary sky,
your images etched in my memory make me want to cry.
A grip over myself, to get, I try.
Still out of the corner of my eye, I see a tear passing by…

Standard

5 thoughts on “As I Lay Down…

  1. This pain unchained has lingered a million months.
    Maybe more, this heart still sore from the hole in it you bore.
    Is your soul still scarred or is it dancing with glee?
    Do you not even remember, how close were we?

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

